4400 36th St NW, Washington, DC 20008
In 1927, Mrs. Frank Cummings Cook took over Miss Tomlin's School, a small, coed primary school, and renamed it Mrs. Cook's School. When she retired in 1952, the school was renamed "Sheridan" because of its location at Sheridan Circle on Massachusetts Avenue, NW. In 1962, it was incorporated by a group of parents as a nonprofit organization and expanded through grade 8. The school moved to its present location in 1964. Through immersion in an inquiry- and concept-based curriculum, this small family school offers a strong academic program that provides a solid grounding in the basic skills. Sheridan's writing program, which is consistent throughout the school, commences with five- to 15-minute lessons that focus on specific skills or writing techniques, then progresses to journal-writing time and a chance to receive individualized instruction from the teacher. French and Spanish instruction begins in kindergarten, and music and art are integral parts of the program. The school schedules trips to local cultural and historical points of interest. A 130-acre campus in the Shenandoah Valley offers outdoor educational experiences for children at all grade levels, including trips during the school year, optional weekend backpacking excursions, and longer winter and summer educational sojourns. Boys and girls engage in both in-class and schoolwide community service projects. An after-school program, vacation camps and summer programs are open to all students.
|Grade Range||Day — Coed Grades K-8|
|Coed, Boys, or Girls||Coed|
|Full Address||4400 36th St NW, Washington, DC 20008|
|Administrator||C. Randall Plummer|