Brimmer and May School
69 Middlesex Rd, Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
Brimmer and May School grew out of two schools originally founded on Boston's Beacon Hill: Miss Folsom's in 1880 and Miss Brown's Classical in 1887. Miss Folsom's School came to be known as the May School in 1902, while under the leadership of Mary May. The Classical School for Girls became the Brimmer School in 1914, offering a coeducational lower school and college preparatory girls' middle and upper schools. In 1939, the two schools merged and, in 1954, moved to Chestnut Hill. Brimmer and May became fully coeducational in 1994. In the lower school, basic skills and programs in the creative arts and physical education are emphasized. Middle and upper school students take a program of academic subjects that is enriched by experiential learning programs, as well as community service, creative arts and athletic offerings. Brimmer and May's curriculum emphasizes problem solving, critical thinking, and analytical reading and writing. Juniors perform 40 hours of required community service, while also engaging in three group projects. Located three miles west of Boston, the school utilizes the cultural and educational resources of the city to further enrich the classroom experience.
|Academic Orientation||College Preparatory|
|Grade Range||Day — Coed Grades PS (Age 4)-12|
|Coed, Boys, or Girls||Coed|
|Full Address||69 Middlesex Rd, Chestnut Hill, MA 02467|